ASICS Elite Track & Field Athletes Ready to “BETTER THEIR BEST” in Moscow

RELEASE DATE: 2013.08.06

ASICS Corporation (Headquarters: Kobe, Japan; President: Motoi OYAMA) today announces the athletes and federations supported by ASICS who will compete at the 2013 IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Russia, on August 10-18, 2013.

ASICS will welcome all athletes and invited guests at its Hospitality Center in Moscow, located at:




For athletes, ASICS will provide a comfortable and inviting atmosphere for use before and after competition. Additionally, ASICS will welcome media and other guests to its lounge to experience the ASICS Spirit.

The 2013 IAAF World Championships will be the first major global sporting event where ASICS sponsored teams will wear apparel and accessories with the stand-alone “ASICS Spiral” branding.

ASICS is excited to support these athletes and expects they will “BETTER THEIR BEST” in their respective events.

<Federations contracted with ASICS>


< Leading ASICS sponsored athletes & All athletes list*> *as of Jul 30, 2013


Mizuki Noguchi (belong to Sysmex), Olympic champion in the marathon at the Athens Olympics.

She also won the 2005 Berlin Marathon in 2:19:12, which is the Berlin Marathon course record, as well as the Japanese and Asian record.

Chisato Fukushima is the national record holder in the women’s 100m and 200m.

Yuki Kawauchi, a marathon runner, known as the ‘citizen runner’

His personal best is 2:08:15.

Yoshihide Kiryu is a sprinter who specializes in the 100m. Currently a high school student, his personal best of 10:01 makes him co-holder of the World Junior record. He aims to become the first Japanese to break the 10-second barrier in the 100m.


Alysia Montaño, a recent addition to the ASICS roster, will be competing in the women's 800m after recently claiming her 5th USA National Title. Already this year, Montaño has set two American records in the Indoor 600m with a time of 1:23.59 and the outdoor 4x800m record with a time of 8:04.31. Montaño will compete on August 15, 16 and 18.

Becky Holliday, Olympic finalist, will be competing in the women's pole vault. Holliday will compete on August 13.

Deena Kastor, American record holder in marathon and half-marathon. She will compete in the marathon event on August 10.

Sharon Day will be coming into the World Championships after competing in Heptathlon at the London Olympics and turning around and having a very successful year in 2013. Sharon won both the USA Indoor and Outdoor Championships this year. Day will compete on August 12 and 13.


Christophe Lemaitre is the current 100m European Champion and French 100m and 200m record holder with respective times of 9:92 and 19:80. He had won silver medal on the 4x100m relay and bronze medal on 200m at the 2011 IAAF World Championships in Daegu, Korea.

Antoinette Nana Djimou is the 2013 European Indoor Champion in Heptathlon.

Simona La Mantia is the 2011 European Indoor Champion in Triple Jump

Emma Green is competing in High Jump. She won the bronze medals in European Championships both Indoor and Outdoor.

Antti Ruuskanen is competing in Javelin. He won the bronze medal at the 2012 London Olympic Games


2012 Olympics 50K race walking silver medalist Jared Tallent will endeavour to go one better at the World Championships in Moscow. Jared is a whole hearted competitor who will do his country proud.

2009 Discus Gold medalist Dani Samuels comes into the World Championships reinvigorated following a below par performance at the London Olympics. Dani’s lead up form has been great and is certain to be a medal contender in Moscow.

Former World Indoors champion Fabrice Lapierre has overcome his injury issues in recent seasons and will be one to watch in the men’s long jump in Moscow. Fabrice is in great shape and will be keen to make up for the disappointment of missing the London Olympics in 2012.

<Athletes supported by ASICS: footwear *> *as of Jul 30, 2013


Yoshihide Kiryu M's 100m Chisato Fukushima W's 200m
Ryota Yamagata M's 100m Hitomi Niiya W's 10000m
Yuichi Kobayashi M's 200m Satomi Kubokura W's 400m Hurdles
Yuzo Kanemaru M's 400m Miyuki Fukumoto W's High Jump
Yasuhiro Fueki M's 400m Hurdles Yuki Ebihara W's Javelin Throw
Tsuyoshi Ugachi M's 10000m Mizuki Noguchi W's Marathon
Kentaro Nakamoto M's Marathon
Yuki Kawauchi M's Marathon
Masakazu Fujiwara M's Marathon
Kengo Yamazaki M's 4x400m Relay
Hiroyuki Nakano M's 4x400m Relay
Hideyuki Hirose M's 4x400m Relay


Kim Hyun-sub M's 20km Race Walk KimSung-eun W's Marathon
Choe Byung-kwang M's 20km Race Walk
Park Chil-sung M's 50km Race Walk
Lim Jung-hyun M's 50km Race Walk
Oh Se-han M's 50km Race Walk
Kim Young-jin M's Marathon
Jin Min-sub M's Pole Vault

Chinese Taipei

TU CHIA LIN M's 4x100m Relay


Deena Kastor W's Marathon
Alysia Montaño W's 800m
Sharon Day W's Heptathlon
Becky Holliday W's Pole Vault


Inaki Gomez M's Race Walk
Karine Belleau-Béliveau W's 800m


Anderson Henriques M's 400m Evelyn Carolina dos Santos W's 4x100m Relay
M's 4x400m Relay Franciela Krasucki W's 100m
Bruno Lins M's 200m W's 200m
Pedro Luiz Burmann M's 4x400m Relay W's 4x100m Relay
Solonei Rocha da Silva M's Marathon Geisa Arcanjo W’s Shot put


Enrico Demonte M's 200m Marzia Caravelli W's 100m Hurdles
M's 4x100m Relay Simona La Mantia W's Triple Jump
Silvano Chesani M's High Jump Elisa Rigaudo W's 20km Race Walk
Giorgio Rubino M's 20km Race Walk Irene Siragusa W's 4x100m Relay
Federico Tontodonati M's 20km Race Walk Martina Amidei W's 4x100m Relay
Teodorico Caporaso M's 50km Race Walk
Juarez Isalbet M's 4x400m Relay


Christophe Lemaitre M's 100m Antoinette Nana Djimou W's Heptathlon
M's 200m
M's 4x100m Relay
Emmanuel Biron M's 4x100m Relay


Alessandra Aguilar W's Marathon
July Takacs W's 20km Race Walk


Thomas van der Plaetsen M's Decathlon
Sara Aerts W's 100m Hurdles
W's Heptathlon


Pelle Rietveld M's Decathlon
Jamile Samuel W's 4x100m Relay
Tessa van Schagen W's 4x100m Relay
Madiea Ghafoor W's 4x100m Relay


Sprunger Ellen W's Heptathlon
W's 4x100m Relay
Fabienne Schlumpf W’s 3000m Steeplechase


Sofia Linde W's Heptathlon
Emma Green Tregaro W's High Jump
Moa Hjelmer W's 200m
W's 400 m


Antti Ruuskanen M's Javelin Throw
Jarkko Kinnunen M's 50km Race Walk
Aku Partanen M's 50km Race Walk


Tim Leathart M's 4x100m Melissa Breen W's 100m
Jarrod Geddes M's 4x 100m Dani Samuels W's Discus Throw
Brandon Starc M's High Jump Jessica Trengove W's Marathon
Jared Tallent M's 50km Race Walk Lauren Shelley W's Marathon
Fabrice Lapierre M's Long Jump Kim Mickle W's Javelin Throw
Andrew McCabe M's 4x100m Relay

New Zealand:

Stuart Farquhar M's Javelin Throw


Public Relations Team:

Japan & Asia:


Europe, Middle East & Africa:



Chinese Taipei:

Download Download small size Download full size File size Image size
PDF version